What I’m working on- “Cross It” Quilt from Zen Chic (Part 2)

Welcome back! Yesterday I shared with you part 1 of my “Cross It” Quilt…hopefully you haven’t forgotten already, you can check out part 1 of this post here….but the pattern looks like this:

Zen Chic So as I mentioned, I could see this finished quilt in my mind, so I had a pretty good Idea of how I wanted to quilt it. I knew I wanted to extend the “sticks” into the borders, and add a few horizontal “ghost sticks” to balance all the vertical lines.

2013-02-22 18.53.50Using my Frixion heat erasable pen I marked all the extended lines by continuing out the pieced sticks, and then started pinning! I decided that I would not draw on my horizontal lines until after I quilted the vertical lines so that I could really place them where I wanted  them.

2013-02-22 19.01.38

 I tried to pin only in the “negative” space between my “sticks” so that I would not have to take out too many pins as I quilted my straight lines. After pinning for what felt like forever, it was time to quilt! For those of you who think you need a large machine to quilt a large scale quilt, you don’t! I used  my BERNINA 430 to make this entire quilt. It would certainly be easier to quilt on a bigger machine (my dream machine is the Baby Lock Tiara) but it can certainly be done!

2013-02-25 08.43.35

Quilting the straight lines was actually harder for me than the free motion portion, and once that was out of the way- the fun began! I knew that I wanted to do something curvy to counterbalance the angular nature of the piecing, but I needed a little inspiration. Some of you may be familiar with Angela Walters and her awesome book “Free Motion Quilting”

free motion quilting

url-1

photo from Angela Walters

Her book is FULL of inspirational ideas, and when I saw a design called “sea foam” I knew I wanted to do a play on it.

cross it quilting

I took the swirls and bubbles and swapped them out for bubbles and swirls! As I quilted I realized how much I loved how it was coming out! I just took one section at s time, and slowly but surely it got done! Of course when I thought I was all done, I laid it out on the floor and I had forgotten a chunk…so back to the machine I went!

When I was FINALLY done quilting and It was time for binding I knew I wanted to have a scrappy style binding, so I took a pile of my leftover fabric from the quilt top cut it up and sewed it all back together into a rainbow of binding. Here’s where I heard Barb K.’s voice in my head. If you know Barb K. you know that she is the queen of “tips and tricks”. Somewhere along the line Barb had told me about a neat way to manage all that binding.

binding roll

You’ll have to accept that you may look a little silly, but if you wrap your binding around an empty toilet paper tube and then string it around your neck like a necklace, you will have a much easier time managing the binding process.

binding necklace

and finally…here’s what you’ve been holding your breath to see, the finished product!

2013-03-05 12.53.492013-03-05 12.53.58

2013-03-04 09.24.37I’m so proud of this finished product, I hope you like it too! What are you working on?

Blog-Sig

14 thoughts on “What I’m working on- “Cross It” Quilt from Zen Chic (Part 2)

  1. I can’t wait to see it in person! I’m working on my daughter’s wedding dress. Just finished her daughter’s dress for the wedding. Can’t wait to get back to quilting!

  2. It looks fantastic! Love as well Vanessas fabrics in the quilt as your ideas for quilting the Background! It turned out Fresh and clean and beautiful. Will you keep it for yourself or is it a gift?

  3. Karie, your free motion looks great! And to think…you hadn’t even made a quilt before you came to Aurora Sewing Center. Just look at you go!!

  4. Fabulous pattern! I really like your twist on it, too. Thank you for sharing! I just stumbled across Zen Chic patterns today, and found your blog by digging through several sites. I’m glad I found you here in the wordpress world!

  5. Reblogged this on The Tromp Queen and commented:
    This Zen Chic pattern has me feeling very creative! I am so excited to have found this wonderful blog post describing how to make a quilt using this pattern with some added tweaks by the blog author, Karie.

  6. This was the best quilting blog I’ve stumbled on to and I love your ideas. I just happened to have this jelly roll that I bought as one of the “Daily Specials” on the Missouri Quilt Company. I loved the fabric but didn’t know what to do with it. The way you showed all the steps was great…thank you so much. How wide is the center part that has the strips? The way you incorporated and quilted circles in the background was perfect. Your creativity sure comes through on this. Thank you for sharing your work…I want to try it.

Leave a Comment....I love to hear from you!

