August Quilt Of The Month…Equal Rights

A YEAR OF QUILTS LOGO(Hey, nobody look at the calendar ok? We’re going to pretend that it’s the beginning of September.)

Photo Sep 22, 3 21 24 PMI’ve just finished August’s quilt of the month! I made Swirly Girls’ “Equal Rights”.

Swirly Girls Equal Rights

Swirly Girls Equal Rights

We saw this quilt at Quilt Market in May and I’ve been waiting on the perfect fabric to use, and when we got Camelot Cotton’s new line called “Nightfall”…I knew it was time! P.S. Click HERE to view the fabrics in this line up close…they are dreamy!

IMG_4259

I LOVE these fabrics all together!

I hope that you’ll forgive my lack of a fancy finished shot of the quilt like usual, we’re headed into the (very) busy season here at Aurora Sewing Center, and my inability to get out and do a photo shoot is really the reason this whole post was delayed! I finally decided that you would forgive me and so, as we often say…”finished is better than perfect”!

This was actually a pretty quick quilt to make, the main triangle pieces are so large that the cutting process is a breeze, and once I reminded myself how to piece triangles together while keeping my points all lining up, the piecing was equally easy! **BONUS** We’re offering this quilt as a class at both of our locations. Equal Rights will be taught at our Williamsville store on October 14th, 21st and 28th from 9am-12pm or at East Aurora on January 7th, 14th and 21st from 9am-12pm. Call Williamsville at 716.204.8350 or East Aurora at 716.652.2811 to sign up..I promise you’ll like it!

Stacks of Sparkly Triangles

Stacks of Sparkly Triangles

IMG_4268

Arranging…

 

Up On The Design Wall

Up On The Design Wall

As far as quilting went, I knew that I’d have to show restraint, as I wanted the quilting to remain fairly simple…it wasn’t an easy task for me, but I eventually decided on a simple straight line outline of the blocks, with a tiny bit of gold bobbin work thrown in!

Marking The Quilt

Marking The Quilt

Hand Winding The Bobbin

Hand Winding The Bobbin

I’ll do another post about Bobbin Work soon, but I was surprised how easy it was to do! I wanted to add a tiny bit of sparkle to the quilt, and this did the trick!

The Finished Product!

The Finished Product!

Now on to the next one!!

Blog-Sig

2 thoughts on “August Quilt Of The Month…Equal Rights

  1. Hi Katie. Do you have any Nightfall by Camelot confetti black and gold dot fabric that you would love to sell? I’m interested. Thanks
    Tracy

Leave a Comment....I love to hear from you!

